Viva Supermarket emerge as the runners-up in The times cricket shield’22

The final match of the Times Cricket Shield was played between E.Merck Sports Club and Viva Supermarket Pvt. Ltd. on May 26. Viva Supermarket won the toss and elected to field first at Worli Sports in Mumbai.

Invited to bat, E.Merck Sports Club posted a competitive score of 6-170 in 20 overs. Vaishnav Sail starred with the bat as he top scored with an unbeaten 46 off 34 balls, including four boundaries and a six. Harsh Rane (37) and Ayush Vartak (42) were the other top contributors with the bat. On the other hand, Viva Supermarket’s Bharat Patil and Akshay Mhapankar were the most successful bowlers as they claimed 2-32 and 2-19 respectively.

In reply, Viva Supermarket almost chased down the target as they piled up 9-158 in 20 overs. Opening batter Umesh led the run chase from the front with a 46-ball 62. He hit half a dozen boundaries and a six in his innings. Captain Akshay Mhapankar also chipped in with the bat as he smashed 27-ball 41, including three boundaries and a couple of sixes. On the other hand, E.Merk Sports Club’s Vaibhav Sawant was the pick of the bowlers as he scalped 3-37 in four overs.

Viva Supermarket Pvt. Ltd. lost to E.Merck Sports Club in the finals of the Times Cricket Shield by 12 runs. 


Comments are closed.