Cricket Club of India Clinch RFS Talyarkhan Trophy’22

Mumbai: Captain Sujit Nayak led by example and scored a facing-saving 91 runs knock and medium-pacer Prathmesh Dake’s fiery bowling performance 4 for 12 runs (2.3 overs) helped Cricket Club of India (CCI) record a 71-run victory against MCA Colts in the final of the Bombay Gymkhana organized Nirlon-R.F.S. Talyarkhan Memorial Invitation Cricket Tournament 2021-2022, conducted under the auspices of MCA, at the Bombay Gymkhana ground on Saturday.

MCA for the second successive time suffered a defeat in the finals of this tournament. Meanwhile, CCI who were in the process of rebuilding their team has now won a title after a couple of years. They had lost to Payyade Sports Club in the Police Shield final in 2021.

MCA deciding to field first restricted CCI to 142 for 9 wickets from their stipulated 20 overs. Medium-pacer Ashray Sajani claimed the top six CCI batsmen, including taking four wickets from successive balls, to finish with 6 for 19 runs. CCI who were struggling at 36 for 6 in 7.4 overs was saved from embarrassment by their skipper and number 7 batsman Nayak who arrested the downfall and took the fight to the rivals. His blistering innings came from just 52 balls and was studded with six hits to the fence and four towering sixes to lift the innings.

Defending a modest total, the CCI bowlers rose to the challenge and medium-pacer Prathamesh Dake picked up 4 wickets for 12 runs from 2.3 overs and Vaibhav Mali claimed 2 for 22 runs to bundle out the MCA youngster for a paltry 71 runs to complete a stunning victory. Middle-order bat Suryansh Shedge was the only batsman to score 28 runs (20 balls, 2×4).

There was some consolation for MCA Colts as their skipper Khizar Dafedar (108 runs & 2 wickets in 3 matches), won the Player of the Tournament award. Sujit Nayak (112 runs in 3 matches) and Prathamesh Dake (10 wickets for 66 runs in 3 matches), both of CCI bagged the Best Batsman and Best Bowler of the tournament awards respectively.

Champions CCI received the glittering R.F.S. Talyarkhan Trophy and a cash award of Rs 50,000 from Chief Guest, Robin Uthappa, a former Indian cricketer, while MCA Colts were presented with the Runner-up Trophy and a cash prize of Rs 25,000.

Brief scores: CCI 142 for 9 wickets, 20 overs (Sujit Nayak 91 (52balls, 6×4,4×6; Ashray Sajnani 6 for 19) beat MCA Colts 71 all out, 15.3 overs (Suryansh Shedge 28 (20 balls, 2×4); Prathamesh Dake 4 for 12 (2.3 overs), Vaibhav Mali 2 for 22). Result: CCI won by 71 runs.

Individual awards – Best Batsman of the tournament: Sujit Nayak (112 runs in 3 matches).

Best Bowler of the tournament: Prathamesh Dake (10 wickets for 66 runs in 3 matches).

Player of the tournament: Khizar Dafedar (108 runs & 2 wickets in 3 matches).

Comments are closed.