Payyade, Parsee Gymkhana poised for Victories in Police Shield’21

Mumbai, December 18:

Defending champions Payyade Sports Club and Parsee Gymkhana are poised to win their semi-final encounters against Parkophene Cricketers and MIG Cricket Club respectively on the opening day, of the Automotive Manufacturing-74th Police Invitation Shield Cricket Tournament 2021-2022, organised under the auspices of MCA.

Electing to bat first, Parkophene Cricketers batsmen struggled against Payyade’s medium-pacers Royston Dias (4 for 35) and Atif Attarwala (4 for 54) and they were dismissed for a paltry 163 runs in 42.4 overs at the Mumbai Police Gymkhana ground on Saturday.  Arun Yadav was the lone Parkophene batter who managed to score 42 runs.

The Payyade Sports Club innings received one setback as they managed to score 38 runs for one wicket in the 12 overs remaining in the day. Siddhesh Lad batting on 20 and Akhil Herwadkar batting 13 were in the middle when stumps were drawn for the day.

In the other semi-final, hot favourites Parsee Gymkhana after being sent into bat first by MIG Cricket Club were sitting pretty having reached a mammoth total of 317 for the loss of five wickets in 61 overs at the Wankhede stadium. The architects of Parsee Gymkhana reaching this huge score were Sachin Yadav and Shams Mulani who are still at the crease batting of 97 and 88 runs respectively. Suryakumar Yadav 35 runs, Aakarshit Gomel 33 runs, and Nikhil Patil (Jr.) 31 runs were the other batsmen to contribute to the scoreboard. Shreyas Gurav (2 for 30) was the only successful MIG bowler.

Brief scores: Parkophene Cricketers: 163 all out in 42.4 overs (Arun Yadav 42; Roystan Dias 4/35, Atif Attarwala 4/54) Vs Payyade Sports Club: 38/1 in 12 overs (Siddhesh Lad 20*, Akhil Herwadkar 13*).

Parsee Gymkhana: 317/5 in 61 overs (Sachin Yadav 97*, Shams Mulani 88*, Suryakumar Yadav 35, Aakarshit Gomel 33, Nikhil Patil (Jr.) 31; Shreyas Gurav 2/30).


Comments are closed.