Our own cC champions of knock out Kanga B group

Final of knockout Kanga is always a great experience and a fierce battle because out of 136 teams, only 4 teams qualify for Kanga league.

In the finals, Our Own, Bombay Gymkhana won the toss and elected to bat on their home ground. Their middle order batsmen Prithviraj Misal (44 ) and Harshit Yadav (44 ) batted sensibly against a formidable spin attack of our own but after the departures of both of them only Wasim Ashraf tried to give some respectability to the team’s total by scoring 30 of 18 balls. Fine spells by Left arm spinner Prasad Rahate who claimed 4 for 23 and off-spinner Suraj Lalvani who took 3 for 40 helped our own cc to restrict Bombay Gymkhana to just 196 in 45 overs.

For Our own cc who created a history in Kanga knock out in an earlier match (when they scored 510 runs in just 45 overs against Indian Gymkhana ) to chase 196 was not a big task but cricket is a game of great uncertainty, our own cc lost their top 5 batsmen for just 75 runs including a wicket of their opener Nishant Kamble (37 runs) .
But thereafter a crucial stand of 55 runs for the sixth wicket between Gaurav Suryavanshi (46runs )and Prakash Aswani (34 runs) steadied their ship to a certain extent. Again a mini collapse of our own due to brilliant bowing by Firoz Daruwala (3 for 31) raised the hope of Bombay Gym. But a cool approach of no.9 batsman Nikhil Shigvan( 28 n.o) helped Our own to reach the target with ease.

Sangam Lad who is the coach of Our Own  CC achieved a unique hat-trick with this win, his teams Bharat cc, Merry Cricketers and now Our own cc became champions in the last 3 years of the knockout Kanga edition. As a coach to produce such results consistently with different teams in Mumbai’s highly competitive scenario is really a commendable effort.

We at Cricket graph wish all the best to the players and support staff of our own cc for the kanga league G division .

Comments are closed.