Mumbai Thunders clinch inaugural President Cup

Mumbai, February 11: Mumbai Thunders continued with their impressive showing and emerged champions defeating Mumbai Warriors by five wickets in the final of the Mumbai Cricket Association organized President Cup women’s T20 cricket tournament, and played at the Wankhede Stadium, Churchgate, on Friday night.

The highlight of Mumbai Thurders facile victory was a superb all-round effort from Humaira Kazi who claimed four wickets for 33 runs and then batted steadily in scoring a 26-ball 29 runs.

Mumbai Warriors, deciding to bat first found the going tough as they lost wickets at regular intervals and managed to reach a meager total of 114 for 9 wickets from 20 overs. The leading run-getters were Fatima Jaffer 28 runs and Sanika Chalke 24 runs. Besides Humaira’s fine bowling spell, Palak Dharamasi claimed two wickets for 20 runs.

In reply, Mumbai Thunders encountered little challenge from the Mumbai Warriors bowling attack and surpassed the winning target reaching 116 for 5 wickets with three balls to spare. Opening batswoman Vrushali Bhagat scored a run-a-ball 41 runs with five boundaries and Humaira played a good supporting role. Sanika Chalke 2 for 14 and Jagravi Pawar 2 for 17 were the only successful Mumbai Warriors bowlers.

Humaira for her fine performances was later declared the ‘Player of the Final’ and received a cash award of Rs 11,000. Vrushali Bhagat (6 wickets & 122 runs) bagged the ‘Player of the Series’ award. Simran Shaikh (133 runs, 4 matches) and Niyati Jagtap (10 wickets, 4 matches) won the ‘Best Batswoman’ and ‘Best Bowler’ awards respectively. All three received a trophy and cash award of Rs 25,000 each.

Champions Mumbai Thunder

Mumbai Thunders, the champions of the inaugural edition of the President Cup received a glittering trophy and a cheque of Rs one lakh, while Mumbai Warriors were presented with the runners-up trophy and a cheque of Rs 50,000.

Runners Up: Mumbai Warriors

Brief scores: Mumbai Warriors 114 for 9 wickets, 20 overs (Fatima Jaffer 28, Sanika Chalke 24; Humaira Kazi 4 for 33, Palak Dharamasi 2 for 20) lost to Mumbai Thunders 116 for 5 wickets, 19.3 overs (Vrushali Bhagat 41, Humaira Kazi 29; Sanika Chalke 2 for 14, Jagravi Pawar 2 for 17). Result: Mumbai Thunders won by 5 wickets.

Comments are closed.