Matharoo bowls OMNI Global to comfortable 9-wicket victory in MCA U22 Tournament’22

Mumbai: A splendid bowling performance by Jassim Matharoo who picked 5 wickets for 15 runs helped OMNI Global Sports Management CC register a commanding 9-wicket win against Sainath SC in a Group-B match of the 2nd LNCC OMNI Global Invitational Under-22 Invitation Cricket Tournament 2021-2022, organized by Lord Northbrook CC under the aegis of Mumbai Cricket Association, and played at the Sainath SC, Virar on Thursday.

Electing to field first, OMNI Global dismissed Sainath SC cheaply for 67 runs in 21.2 overs. Matharoo received good support from Soham Rane who claimed 3 wickets for 22 runs. In reply, OMNI Global easily chased the target reaching 71 runs for the loss of one wicket with 71 for 1 wicket in 11.3 overs. Vedant Patil was unbeaten on 34 runs and Adil Shaikh also remained not out on 31 runs.

Jassim Matharu
Jassim Matharu

In another Group-B encounter, Dr. D.Y. Patil SA powered by a century knock from Hitesh Chauhan 117 runs (93-balls, 16x4s, 1x6s) and a steady batting effort from Omkar Umbarkar 67 runs (82-balls, 7x4s) charged to a 8-wicket victory against Mumbai Police Gymkhana at the latter’s ground.

Mumbai Police who were sent into to bat, managed to score  218 runs for 9 wickets in 40 overs. Aakash Parmar 51 runs (72-balls, 4×4s, 1x6s) and Sachin Rathod 49 runs (62-balls, 4×7s) helped build the Mumbaui Police innings. D.Y. Patil SA were well-served by Hitesh and Omkar and without much resistance from the rival bowlers easily crossed the finish line.

In a Group-D encounter, Goregaon SC bowled tidily and then batted steadily to record a 7-wicket win against M.V. Sports Club at the Goregaon SC ground. Batting first, M.V. Sports were bowled out for 96 runs in 26.2 overs with Satyalaksh Jain scoring an unbeaten 47 runs. Later, Goregaon SC chased the winning runs scoring 100 for the loss of just 3 wickets in 15.3 overs. Jash Gainga contributed 23 runs and Manan Bhatt remained not out on 21 runs to see the team through.

Brief scores: Group-B: Police Gymkhana 218 for 9 wickets, 40 overs (Aakash Parmar 51(72-balls, 4×4s, 1x6s), Sachin Rathod 49 (62-balls, 4×7s) lost to Dr. D.Y. Patil SA 219 for 2  wickets, 32.3 overs (Hitesh Chauhan 117 (93-balls, 16x4s, 1x6s), Omkar Umbarkar 67 (82-balls, 7x4s). Result: Dr. D.Y. Patil SA won by 8 wickets.

Group-B: Sainath SC 67 all out, 21.2 overs (Jassim Matharoo 5/15; Soham Rane 3/22) lost to OMNI Global SM 71 for 1 wicket, 11.3 overs (Vedant Patil 34 not out, Adil Shaikh 31 not). Result: OMNI Global Sports Management won by 9 wickets.

Group-D: M.V. Sports Club 96 all out, 26.2 overs (Satyalaksh Jain 47 not out) lost to Goregaon SC 100 for 3 wickets, 15.3 overs (Jash Gainga 23, Manan Bhatt 21 not out). Result: Goregaon SC won 7 wickets.

Comments are closed.