Kunal Gawand’s All-Round Heroics power Paramount Cricket Club to a win

In a high-scoring contest, Paramount Cricket Club pipped SKP Athletic Club by 15 runs during the Mumbai Junior Shield 2022-23. Paramount Cricket Club won the toss and elected to bat at Matunga Gymkhana on January 26.

Riding on Kunal Gawand’s stellar century, Paramount Cricket Club posted a daunting total of 335/6 in 45 overs. Gawand, a right-handed batter, muscled 105 off 81, including 13 boundaries and two sixes. Jitesh Purabiya (57) and Parag Patil (54 not out) were the other major contributors with the bat for Paramount Cricket Club. For SKP Athletic Club, Ayush Mishra, Patrick Mahida, Akash Mali, Sahil Dhoble, Yuvraj Shinde, and Aman Yadav claimed one wicket each.

In reply, SKP Athletic Club fought hard and scored 320/7 in 45 overs; however, they fell shy of just 15 runs. Captain Sumit Mishra led the run chase from the front with an unbeaten 101 off 61 that saw six boundaries and seven sixes. Mishra’s valiant effort went in vain as SKP Athletic Club failed to cross the line. Chaitanya Patil also chipped in with a useful 77 off 76 for SKP Athletic Club. For Paramount Cricket Club, Bhavik Patel, off-spinner Kunal Gawand, and Parag Patil accounted for two scalps each.

Kunal Gawand of Paramount Cricket Club won the player of the match award for his brilliant all-round performance.

Comments are closed.