Dominant Vasai Centre outplay Tarapur Centre in U14 Ajit Naik Tournament’22

Mumbai: Deadly bowling spells from Yuvraj Patil who finished with match-figures of 13 wickets for 34 runs (5/22 & 8/12) and Aarav Malhotra 7 wickets for 17 runs (5/9 & 2/8) and solid batting from Devansh Trivedi 158 not out and Swapnil Varma 84 not out, were significant contributions which helped Vasai Centre’s record an emphatic victory by innings and 180 runs against Tarapur Centre on the second day of their 2-day second round match of the 25th Ajit Naik Memorial Under-14 selection trials cricket tournament 2022, organised by WSC under the aegis of the Mumbai Cricket Association and played at the Sainath SC ground, Virar.

The Vasai youngsters showed brilliant skills and dominated the match from the start as they dismissed Tarapur for a low 49 runs in 26.4 overs in the first innings. Later, Vasai lost an early wicket of Yuvraj out for just 3 runs, but Devansh and Swapnil batted confidently to freely score runs and declared their first innings at 271 for one wicket in 60 overs. Yuvraj, who failed with the bat, destroyed the Tarapur batting which collapsed for just 42 runs in 26 overs.

The match played between Thane Centre and Badlapur Centre finhished in a draw at the Rainbow cricket ground, Badlapur. But, the Thane team won on the basis of having taken a massive first innings lead and enforcing the follow-on.

Thane Centre electing to bat amassed a huge total of 432 for 6 wickets in 86 overs. The big scores for Thane came from Marlesh Shinde scored 109 runs (136-balls, 22x4s), Smin Kini made 84 runs (120-balls, 14x4s), and Ameya More 67 (57-balls, 10x4s), while Jayesh Mhaskar took 3 wickets for 108 runs. Badlapur were bowled out 135 runs in 50.2 overs in the first innings. The top-score was Vansh Chumble 59 runs, while Aryan Vichare claimed 6 wickets for 56 runs. Following Badlapur made 65 for no loss in the remaining 10 overs before end of play. Aakash Mangde scored 45 runs.

Brief scores: Azad Maidan Centre 176 all out, 59.1 overs (Yuvan Sharma  43 not out; Akshit Tambe 4/51) & 111 for 3 wickets, 31 overs (Gajanan Narapgol 76 not out; Harshawardhan Barmukh 2/25) drew with Juhu Vile Parle Centre 285 all out, 76.2 overs (Harshavardhan Barmukh 90, Mitesh Pawar 42, Omkar Sarkar 45; Aryan Babardesai 3/50). Result: Match Drawn (Juhu Vile Parle won on 1st innings lead).

Thane Centre 432 for 6 wickets, 86 overs (Marlesh Shinde 109(136), 22×4’s, Smin Kini 84(120), 14×4’s, Ameya More 67(57), 10×4’s, Kartik Kumar 47(67), 6×4’s, Balpreet Singh Saini 38(51), 6×4’s, Samridh Bhatt 32(58), 7×4’s; Jayesh Mhaskar 3/108) drew with Badlapur Centre 135 all out, 50.2 overs Vansh Chumble 59(139), 10×4’s; Aryan Vichare 6/56) & 65 for no loss, 10 overs (Aakash Mangde 45(26), 10×4’s). Result: Match Drawn (Thane won on 1st innings lead).

Tarapur Centre 49 all out, 26.4 overs (Aarav Malhotra 5/9, Yuvraj Patil 5/22) & 42 all out, 26 overs (Yuvraj Patil 8/12) lost to Vasai Centre 271 for 1 wicket, 60 overs (Devansh Trivedi 158 not out, Swapnil Varma 84 not out). Result: Vasai won by an innings and 180 runs.

Comments are closed.