Catholic Gymkhana score narrow victory in Kanga Knockout Tournament’22

Mumbai: The Catholic Gymkhana batted steadily and managed to snatch a tense and thrilling one-wicket win against Park Cricket Club in Group-D section match of the MCA Dr. H.D. Kanga knockout cricket tournament 2022, and played at the RTO ground, Azad Maidan.

Park CC preferring to bat first scored 189 runs for 9 wickets in 42 overs. Half century efforts from Meet Mayekar 64 runs and Arjun Lotlikar 56 runs propped the Park CC innings while Catholic Gym’s bowler Narendra Vishwakarma took 4 for 40 to restrict the opponents. In reply, Catholic Gymkhana batters put together small useful partnerships which helped them to pull off a narrow win and advance to the next round. Deepak Tolani was the top-scorer with 43 runs, while Prathamesh Mhatre picked up 4 wickets for 31 runs.

In another match, Mulund Challengers batting first were bowled out for 125 runs in 40 overs and in response Vile Parle SC reached 126 for 2 wickets in just 19.4 overs to clinch an 8-wicket victory.

In other matches, Worli CC dominated their game against Palanpur CC and charged to 134 runs win and Friends CC defeated Kridarang CC by 8 wickets.

Brief scores – Group D: Park CC 189 for 9 wickets, 42 overs (Meet Mayekar 64, Arjun Lotlikar 56; Narendra Vishwakarma 4/40) lost to The Catholic Gymkhana Ltd. 190 for 9 wickets, 41.5 overs (Deepak Tolani 43; Prathamesh Mhatre 4/31). Result: The Catholic Gymkhana Ltd. won by 1 wkt.

Kridarang CC 130 all out, 38.4 overs (Sarvesh Surve 35; Junaid Khan 3/28) lost to Friends CC 132 for 2 wickets, 15.5 overs (Palash Pawar 78, Aditya Pabalkar 32). Result: Friends CC won by 8 wkts.

Crescent CC 190 all out, 34.2 overs (Santosh Palve 59, Nitin Deshmukh 31; Arush Patankar 3/35) lost to Prabodhan Goregaon 194 for 5 wickets, 28.1 overs (Prathamesh Massurkar 44, Amar Bhayde 42, Arjun Bagitkar 35). Result: Prabodhan Goregaon won by 5 wkts.

Mulund Challengers 125 all out, 40 overs (Smit Kochrekar 40, Yash Mohite 32; Shreyansh Veera 4/26, Amit Shah 3/18) lost to Vile Parle SC 126 for 2 wickets, 19.4 overs (Himanshu Gala 78). Result: Vile Parle SC won by 8 wkts.

Bhatia SC 60 all out, 23 overs (Sandeep Shinde 5/13, Dipesh Gharate 3/12) lost to Jolly Friends CC 61/3 in 9.3 overs. Result: Jolly Friends CC won by 7 wkts.

Worli CC 206 all out, 41.5 overs (Pratik Mhatre 76, Pranav Kamble 35; Amit Katvi 4/43, Rohit Rajbhar 3/41) beat Palanpur CC 72 all out, 25.2 overs (Dharmendra Morya 3/13). Result: Worli CC won by 134 runs.

Comments are closed.