All-rounder Saniya sparkles in Team Pink’s 6-wkt win in Women’s T20 Cricket Tournament’22

Mumbai: The impressive all-round showing by Saniya Raut who claimed 2 wickets for 27 runs and then scored a sparkling unbeaten 64 runs powered Team Pink to a comfortable 6-wicket victory against Team Yellow in a second round Group-B match of the Women’s T20 Cricket Tournament 2021-2022, organised by Victory Cricket Club in association with Pulse Sports Events Entertainment and Eagle Thane Strikers, and played at the Parsee Gymkhana ground.

Sent in to bat first Team Yellow riding on Vrushali Bhagat’s unbeaten knock of 74 runs and Sanika Chalke’s decent innings of 35 runs scored 137 runs for 3 wickets in 20 overs. In response, Team Pink bolstered by Saniya match-winning innings scored 138 runs for 4 wickets in 18.5 overs to complete their second successive win. Diksha Pawar 2 for 23 runs was Team Yellow’s successful bowler.

Team Purple and Team Red also registered their second successive wins in Group-A matches. At the Islam Gymkhana ground, Team Purple defeated Team Green by 5 wickets and later Team Red scored a thumping 10-wicket win against Team Maroon.

Brief scores – Group – A: Team Green: 98 for 5 wickets, 20 overs (Ankita Yadav 51*, Alina Mulla 25; Mahi Thakkar 2/16) lost to Team Purple: 99 for 5 wickets, 15.3 overs (Mansi Patil 26; Samrudhi Rawool 2/9). Result: Team Purple won by 5 wkts.

Team Maroon: 68 for 9 wickets, 20 overs (Batul Pareira 3/15, Ketki Dhure 2/5, Pradnya Bhagat 2/8) lost to Team Red: 69 for no loss, 11.3 overs (Aachal Valanju 38*, Krithika Krishnakumar 20*). Result: Team Red won by 10 wkts.

Group – B: Team Yellow: 137 for 3 wickets, 20 overs (Vrushali Bhagat 74*, Sanika Chalke 35; Saniya Raut 2/27) lost to Team Pink: 138 for 4 wickets, 18.5 overs (Saniya Raut 64*; Diksha Pawar 2/23). Result: Team Pink won by 6 wkts.

Team Orange: 134 for 2 wickets, 20 overs (Manjiri Gawade 46, Sharvi Save 43, Sayali Satghare 32*; Prakashika Naik 2/20) beat Team Blue: 108 for 9 wickets, 20 overs (Sejal Raut 43; Sayali Satghare 4/18, Niyati Jagtap 2/14). Result: Team Orange won by 26 runs.

Comments are closed.