Bhoir, Parab shine in Islam Gymkhana’s win in Islam Gymkhana T20 Tournament’22

Mumbai: Defending champions Islam Gymkhana rode on the fine efforts of all-rounder Vinayak Bhoir (3 for 13 runs and a quick 25-balls 36 runs (3x4s, 2x6s) and middle-order batsman Nilkanth Parab solid 47 runs (44 balls, 4x4s, 2x6s) started with a 6-wicket victory against Bombay Gymkhana in a first-round match of the 72nd Salar Jung Invitation T20 Cricket Tournament, organised by Islam Gymkhana under the auspices of the Mumbai Cricket  Association, and played at the Gymkhana’s ground on Saturday.

Bombay Gymkhana was sent in to bat first scored 132 for 8 wickets from 20 overs. Opening batsman Arsalan Shaikh was the top-scorer with 33 runs, while Siddant Singh contributed 21 runs. Left-arm spinner Bhoir got three crucial wickets and the other left-arm spinner Salil Agharkar (2/12) were among the wickets.

Later, Parab and Bhoir put on 66 runs for the fourth wicket to ensure the home team chased the target reaching 136 for the loss of 4 wickets in 16.5 overs.

Meanwhile, last year’s runners-up Muslim United Sports Club also started on a winning note registering a fluent 9-wicket win against Apollo CC. Apollo CC batting first could only score 83 runs in 17.1 overs. Nutan Goel 26 runs and Omkar Rahate 24 runs were the only batters to get some runs, Parikshit Valsangkar and Yash Chavan picked up three wickets each, while Dhrumil Matkar claimed 2 wickets. Muslim United lost just one wicket in reaching 84 runs. Opening batsmen Sidhaant Adhatrao 42 (26 balls, 5×4, 2×6), and Jash Ganiga 31 not out ensured their win.

Vinayak Bhoir
Vinayak Bhoir

In another match, P.J. Hindu Gymkhana charged to an 86-run victory against Kurla Sports Club. Batting first, Hindu Gymkhana made 169 for 8 wickets in 20 overs and then bowled out Kurla SC for 83 runs in 18.3 overs.

In the third match of the day, Mumbai Police Gymkhana scored an easy 109 runs victory against Muslim Sports Club. Electing to bat, the Mumbai Police were dismissed for 129 runs in 19 overs. Shrikant Limbole and Swapnil Khule scored 40 and 31 runs respectively to prop the total. Santosh Mahapor (4/33), John Abraham (2/12), and Atul Singh (2/16) shared the wickets. In reply, Muslims SC was dismissed cheaply for only 20 runs in 10 overs. Medium-pacer Amit Yadav (5/12), and Yogesh Patil (3/3) were responsible for the massive win.

Brief scores: Bombay Gymkhana 132 for 8 wickets, 20 overs (Arsalan Shaikh 33; Vinayak Bhoir 3/13, Salil Agharkar 2/12) lost to Islam Gymkhana 136 for 4 wickets, 16.5 overs (Nilkanth Parab 47(44b, 4×4, 2×6), Vinayak Bhoir 36(25b, 3×4, 2×6); Rishikesh Jadhav 3/30). Result: Islam Gymkhana won by 6 wickets.

P.J. Hindu Gymkhana 169 for 8 wickets, 20 overs (Binns Neyyoth 36, Vishvajit Jagdale 34, Shivam Ghosh 3/24, Naupil Rozani 2/44) Kurla SC 83 all out, 18.3 overs (Utkarsh Raut 2/3, Ankit Singh 2/8, Aminullah M. 2/16). Result: Hindu Gymkhana won by 86 runs.

Mumbai Police Gymkhana 129 all out, 19 overs (Shrikant Limbole 40, Swapnil Khule 31; Santosh Mahapor 4/33, John Abraham 2/12, Atul Singh 2/16) beat Muslims SC 20 all out, 10 overs (Amit Yadav 5/12, Yogesh Patil 3/3). Result: Police Gymkhana won by 109 runs.

Apollo CC 83 all out, 17.1 overs (Nutan Goel 26, Omkar Rahate 24) lost to Muslim United SC 84 for 1 wicket, 11.4 overs (Sidhaant Adhatrao 42 (26balls, 5×4, 2×6), Jash Ganiga 31). Result: Muslim United SC won by 9-wickets.

Comments are closed.