Wagle Sports MSSA Sports Excellence Awards | Mumbai


Wagle Sports is a renowned name in the field of Sports, especially in the cricket crazy city of Mumbai. Raghuram Wagle, who is the founder of Wagle Sports, conceived the idea of encouraging sports among people, whether young or old, way back in 1865.  It was since then that Wagle Sports started its journey to achieve this noble mission of theirs. They encourage sports by providing kits and also motivate the players by awarding them trophies. Recently, Wagle Sports which also happens to be the first sports shop of India has completed not a decade, not a century, but a magnificent 150 years.

Manohar Wagle, who is the fourth generation of Wagle Sports, is shouldering the responsibility nicely. Recently MSSA (Maharashtra School Sports Association) concluded a handful of tournaments across multiple sports and gave away number of prizes to the winning teams. Wagle Sports along with MSSA decided to go a step ahead when they chalked out the plan to felicitate individual talent from these winning teams. On 22nd March at Sri Shanmukhananda Fine Arts & Sangeetha Sabha, Sion, Mumbai, Wagle Sports – MSSA Excellence Award was bestowed on the best players. This was an encouraging move which will boost the confidence of the young and budding sportsmen and women. Such a programme will certainly inspire sports superstars of the future.

While speaking to cricketgraph.com, Mr. Wagle said that “ MSSA has been conducting these tournaments for all these schools over the years however individual talent has never been recognized. Through this partnership with MSSA we aim to encourage sports amongst everyone and this is also our way to give back to the society at large through sports”.

Wagle Sports Mumbai
Mr. Manohar Wagle, 4th Generation – Wagle Sports

The prize distribution function was graced by dignitaries like Manohar Wagle, Deepak Talim,India U-19 batsman Sarfaraz Khan, famous Comedian Johnny Lever, MSSA Cricket Secretary Ajit Daware,MSSA President Jude Rodrigues and MSSA General Secretary Sebastian Fernandes.

Sarfaraz Khan gave away accolades to the young cricket achievers. Here is the list of players who were rewarded for their brilliant performances in Giles Shield:

Best Batsman – Parth Gohil (Shri BAK Swadhyay Bhavan School)

Best Bowler – Ajinkya Jadhav (IES Raja Shivaji -Dadar School)

Best All-Rounder – Abbas Karachiwala (Lilavati Poddar School)

Best Bowler – Sahil Sawant (Antonio D’Silva Dadar)

Best Bowler – Manish Dhiwar (VMPS Vidyamandir Dahisar)

Best Batsman – Suryansh Shedge (Gundecha Education Academy – Kandivali)

Best Bowler – Sachdev Zenith (Gundecha Education Academy – Kandivali)

Best All-Rounder – Bhooshan Kastur (Balmohan Vidyamandir -Dadar)

Best Batsman – Dipesh Hemdev (VPM School Mulund)

The award ceremony witnessed phenomenal presence from as many as 330 schools. This was the first time ever in the history of school sports that such an event was thought out.The event was a grand success and let’s hope that the partnership between MSSA and Wagle Sports flourishes in the years to come.

CricketGraph.com team wishes all the very best to these young talented achievers and congratulates both MSSA and Wagle Sports for such innovative award ceremony.



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.