Victory Lift the Purshottam Shield: High Voltage finals as Bista and Nahar tons deemed crucial to score 505 in an innings

In the finals of the Purshottam Shield, the batsmen from both teams enjoyed their outings as a total of a mammoth 872 runs were scored in the game. A highly anticipated finals between two titans didn’t disappoint. Victory CC convincingly defeated the MIG with a supreme performance with the bat. 

Victory CC won a crucial toss and elected to bat first. Jay Bista took the charge and hammered an emphatic 169. He had a massive partnership with Yash Nahar who also notched up a century of his own, scoring 128. Amey Soman and Kaushik Chikhalikar also contributed crucial half centuries as Victory CC scored an unassailable total of 505 losing 7 wickets in 45 overs. Gaurav Jathar did his best with the ball but could scalp only 3 wickets. With a target of 505, Victory CC already had one hand on the shield by the end of the first innings. 

Left: Jay Bista, Right: Yash Nahar

It was MIG’s turn with the bat. Om Keshkamat high scored with 81 as Ashay Palkar stayed not out with 62 in the end. There were numerous other 30-40 contributions but unfortunately they weren’t enough and MIG were short by 138 runs. Although they ended on the losing side, MIG’s efforts in the runchase were commendable as even they crossed the 350-run mark.

Left: Om Keshkamat & Right: Ashay Palkar

With numerous batting performances, the bowler of the day was certainly Rishabh Karwa. Karwa bowled an impressive spell of 4/69 in 10 overs. In a high-scoring match like this, a spell like this has definitely raised eyebrows. 

The white-ball Purshottam Shield concluded with the Victory CC lifting the trophy. This can be deemed as a successful update for the tournament from its traditional one and a half day format. 

Runners Up MIG

Toss: Victory Cricket Club won the toss and elected to bat
Result: Victory Cricket Club won by 138 runs
Victoy Cricket Club- 505/7 in 45 overs
(Jay Bista 169, Yash Nahar 128, Amey Soman 60, Kaushik Chikhalikar 55, Gaurav Jathar 3/97)
M.I.G. Cricket Club- 367/10 in 40.5 overs
(Om Keshkamat 81, Ashay Palkar 62*, Gaurav Jathar 41, Shreyas Gurav 40, Ankush Jaiswal 35, Vedant Murkar 34, Sheesh Shetty 33, Rishabh Karwa 4/69


Comments are closed.