In the final of 27th MCA Ajit Naik Memorial Cricket Tournament 2023-24 Vashi Centre beat Azad Maidan Centre with first innings lead. A two-day test match that resulted in a draw saw Vashi Centre beat Azad Maidan Centre with first innings lead of 17 runs.

Batting first Azad Maidan scored 235 in 67.5 overs with the contributions of Dhairya Patil (38), Aarush Kolhe (38) and Vedang Kokate (33). Azad maidan had a steady start and were 68 fro1 but then a sudden collapse put Azad on backfoot as from 68 for 1 they went to 68 for 4 in span of 3 overs. In bowling department for Vashi Centre Shree Ganesh Dhanawde picked four wickets (4/44) and Uday Singh Johal picked 3 wickets (3/55). 235 seemed a good total and Azad Maidan Centre were in the game with this total.

While batting second Vashi Centre were struggling at 99 for 4 and then they saw one of the finest partnerships in the final of U-14 Ajit Naik Memorial Tournament. A stand of 95 runs between captain Pradnya Bhalerao (96) and Sparsh Gholap (34) made sure that Vashi were at top. Even though the bowlers of Azad Maidan Centre came back in the game but it was too late. Vashi Centre were All out for 252 runs having the lead of 17 runs, which at the end felt crucial for the win for the Vashi Centre. In the bowling department for Azad Maidan Centre Vedang Kokate picked three wickets (3/32).

The Man of the match of the final was the captain of the Vashi Centre Pradnya Bhalerao who scored 96 runs from 134 balls. On the back of his brilliant half century Vashi Centre were in the position of wining. Pradnya Bhalerao made a name for himself in the final. The bowling performance also came in handy for the Vashi Centre and with the All-round performance of the team it helps them to clinch this victory.

Brief Score:  Azad Maidan Centre 1st inns 235 for 10 (Dhairya Patil 38, Aarush Kolhe 38, Vedang Kokate 33, Shree Ganesh Dhanawde 4/44, Uday Singh Johal 3/55) and 2nd inns 24 for 1.                                                                                               Vashi Centre 1ist Inns 252 for 10 (Pradnya Bhalerao 96, Sparsh Gholap 34, Pugazh Sundarraj 31, Vedang Kokate 3/32, Shaurya Rane 2/53)



Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.