Pragnesh and Aakash smash crucial 50’s while Nihar Agre’s 5wkts steers MIG CC to a finals win in the Future Star Trophy (U-16 Boys) ‘18

Played at the National Cricket Club on Cross Maidan, it was finally the all important one on one finale between two teams who have fought hard throughout the tournament to reach this position. MIG Cricket Club & Academy took on the equally powerful Rizvi School (Bandra west) where in MIG won the toss and right elected to bat first on the back of their strong batting line up.

Opening the innings, proven solid opener Pragnesh Kanpillewar once again gave a thumping start smashing a 65ball 67(5fours, 3sixes) while he also got a stable partner in no.3 batsman Aakash Singh who also scored a very solid looking as well as a crucial knock of 63 off 68balls(9fours). Both the boys also stitched a 96run stand which set the tone for the MIG innings. Apart from them hardly any batsman managed to make much of an impact but the damage was already inflicted by Pragnesh and Akash as the team total was set to a respectable 203/7 in 35overs. Amongst the bowlers, Saad Shaikh was the pick of the bowlers taking 3/38 in 7 overs.

Rizvi while chasing 204 were struggling at one point on 11/3 and 22/4 before Shreyas Mandalik almost turned the tables with his fighting knock of 79 off 93balls(3fours,1six). The middle order supported him well with Mohit Tanwar(23 off 29) and Ayaz Khan (44 off 38balls) batting well around Shreyas to reignite hopes. Rizvi almost gave a brilliant comeback from nowhere but Nihar Agre turned out to be the savior for MIG as he came up with a match winning bowling spell of 5/26 in 7overs. Medium pacer Nihar bowled in the right areas with great line and length which reaped rewards for him as well as his team. Pragnesh also chipped in with 3crucial wickets making it a perfect all-round perfomance. Winning against Rizvi is not easy as it is one of the most powerful and hardly defeated teams at the school level but MIG CC once again showed that everything is possible when you give your best. Rizvi won the finals by 12runs and Nihar agre was declared ‘man of the match’ for his brilliant spell while Pragnesh’s all-round show along with Aakash’s fifty also played a crucial role in the win.

Sharvi suhas save best Bower and stylist Player

Aman Manihar was awarded the best bowler









Comments are closed.