Harsh Aghav Smashes 204 and 133 in U16 Payyade Trophy

The U16 Payyade Trophy, which is an MCA selection tournament is underway. Three-day matches are played as a part of this competition. Between November 6 and 8, two games were played. 

Sunil Gavaskar XI v Rohit Sharma XI

Riding on Harsh Aghav’s prolific batting performance, Sunil Gavaskar XI pipped Rohit Sharma by a massive margin of 141 runs. Batting first, Sunil Gavaskar XI piled up 419 in 86.4 overs, thanks to Aghav’s 204. On the other hand, for Rohit Sharma XI, Agastya Bangera was the top performer with the ball as he claimed 105/4. In reply, Rohit Sharma XI were bowled out for 264 in 50.5 overs. Abhighyan Kundu top-scored with 94 runs. Taking a handsome lead of 155 runs, Sunil Gavaskar XI added another 227 runs in 47 overs to set a target of 383 runs. It was Aghav again with the bat as he muscled 133. For Rohit Sharma XI, Kavya Gori accounted for 56/4. Chasing a mammoth target, Rohit Sharma XI faltered as they were reduced to 241 in 56.1 overs, losing the match by 141 runs. Harsh Gaikar fought hard for his 93. However, Sunil Gavaskar XI’s bowlers, Mehboob Alam (59/5) and Chirag Modak (63/3) rattled the opposition.

Brief Score: Sunil Gavaskar XI 419 all out in 86.4 overs (Harsh Aghav 204, Shivank Rao 62, Swayam Sail 47 not out, Mehboob Alam 38, Agastya Bangera 4/105) and 227/7 (decl.) in 47 overs (Harsh Aghav 133, Hamja Khan 40, Kavya Gori 4/56) beat Rohit Sharma XI 264 all out in 50.5 overs (Abhigyan Kundu 94, Tejas More 49, Shreyansh Rai 42, Kushal Dhavan 36, Ansh Dandekar 4/47, Mehboob Alam 4/60) and 241 all out in 56.1 overs (Harsh Gaikar 93, Mehboob Alam 5/59, Chirag Modak 3/63) by 141 runs

Dilip Vengsarkar XI v Sachin Tendulkar XI

Winning the toss and electing to bat first, Dilip Vengsarkar XI were bundled out for a paltry 142 in 46.3 overs. Varad Sakharkar was the lone warrior in the fight as he mustered 74. On the other hand, for Sachin Tendulkar XI, Pratapraj Pulla was the pick of the bowlers with 20/4. Pulla led the team’s bowling attack and yielded rich dividends for hitting the right straps. In reply, Sachin Tendulkar XI took a considerable lead of 69 runs as they posted 211 in 83 overs. Anirudha Nair (39) and Raza Mirza (37) made valuable contributions with the bat. For Dilip Vengsarkar XI, Sanskar Rao was the most successful bowler with 54/4. The match ended in a draw as Dilip Vengsarkar XI put together 47/1 in 14 overs in their second innings.

Brief Score: Dilip Vengsarkar XI 142 all out in 46.3 overs (Varad Sakharkar 74; Pratapraj Pulla 20/4) and 47/1 in 14 overs; Sachin Tendulkar XI 211 all out in 83 overs (Anirudha Nair 39, Raza Mirza 37; Sanskar Rao 54/4)

Comments are closed.