Dr. Tausif Khan’s all-round performance powers Mumbra Royals to win Dr. Ashfaque & Dr. Chang Memorial Trophy’22

On May 29, Mumbra Royals locked horns against Thane Superb in the finals of Dr. Ashfaque & Dr. Chang Memorial Trophy. Thane Superb won the toss and elected to field first at the Rushi Farm in Padgha.

Put in to bat first, Mumbra Royals posted a fighting score of 246 before getting bowled out in 31.2 overs. Opening batter Dr. Yogesh Kayande top scored with 38 runs off 22 balls, including five boundaries and three sixes. Lower down the order, Dr. Tausif Khan played a cameo in which he hammered 34 runs off 16 balls, including three boundaries and as many sixes. On the other hand, Thane Superb’s Dr. Sachin Patil and Tapan Kumar Das starred with the ball as they bagged three wickets apiece.

In response, Thane Superb were reduced to 176 in 27.5 overs. Tapan Kumar Das led the run chase with an unbeaten 71 off 65 balls, including nine boundaries and two sixes. However Das ran out of partners and could not see his side home. Dr. Tausif Khan was the wrecker-in-chief as he struck with 5-52 in seven overs. The right arm speedster rattled the opposition with his consistent lines and lengths.

Mumbra Royals beat Thane Superb by 70 runs to win the Dr. Ashfaque & Dr. Chang Memorial Trophy. Dr. Tausif Khan was the top performer in the match.  


Comments are closed.