Arpit Dhadve’s 96 leads Islam Gymkhana to victory in MCA U19 Tournament’22

Mumbai: Arpit Dhadve played a smart, steady innings, but fell four runs short of the magical three-figure mark, as he was dismissed for 96 runs. Nonetheless, his knock paved the way for Islam Gymkhana to register a comfortable 8-wicket win against P.J.  Hindu Gymkhana in a Group-D match of the MCA Under-19 Cricket Tournament 2021-22, organized by Mangrol Sports Club in association with Pulse Sports Events Entertainment and played at the Islam Gymkhana ground.

In pursuit of a modest target, Islam Gymkhana riding on Arpit’s solid batting easily surpassed Hindu Gymkhana’s total, reaching 188 for 2 wickets in 38 overs. Hemanshu Kumar played the supporting role and was unbeaten of 42 runs as Islam Gymkhana without too many setbacks crossed the finish line. Earlier, Hindu Gymkhana preferring to bat first, were restricted to 186 for 6 wickets in their stipulated 40 overs. Kavi Priyan 66 not out and Mohd Moosa Ansari 58 runs were Hindu Gymkhana’s leading run-getters. Islam Gymkhana bowlers Arjun Rawat (2 for 24), Yaseen Shaikh (2 for 26), and Azhar Mansuri (2 for 42) picked up the wickets.

Tanish Meher
Tanish Meher

In another Group-D encounter, Sainath SC dominated the match against Worli SC and charged to a solid 9-wicket victory. Chasing a low target, Sainath were well-served by Tanish Meher who smashed a quick unbeaten 77 runs while Sarvesh Yadav contributed a solid 47 runs to secure their big win. Earlier, Worli SC batting first could only muster to score 145 runs for 8 wickets in 40 overs. Parth Pednekar scored an unbeaten 50 runs, while Sainath bowler Pratham Salaskar finished with 4 wickets for 34 runs.

In interesting Group-C matches, Mumbai Police Gymkhana defeated Bharat Cricket Club by 2 wickets and Karnatak Sporting Association inflicted a 5-wicket defeat on National Cricket Club.

Brief scores: Bombay Gymkhana: 213 for 8 wickets, in 40 overs (Harsh Mogaveera 48, Anshul Murli 37; Rahul Kankarwal 2/32, Vedant Deshmukh 2/38, Arman Pathan 2/38) beat Dadar Union SC: 169 all out, 38 overs (Riday Khandke 31; Soham Talekar-3/25). Result: Bombay Gymkhana won by 44 runs.

Superstar SC: 124 all out, 39 overs (Aradhya Mayekar 43; Sarthak Bafna 3/18, Ruchit Ahuja 2/14, Roneet Thakur 2/34) lost to Payyade SC: 127 for 7 wickets, 31.1 overs (Roneet Thakur 31; Devansh Katkar 4/19). Result: Payyade Sports Club won by 3 wickets.

Bharat CC: 178 for 6 wickets, 40 overs (Jaineel Nanda 72*, Ritesh Yadav 52; Tanishq Mayekar 2/44) lost to Mumbai Police Gymkhana: 180 for 8 wickets, 36.3 overs (Malhar Vanjari 62, Sachin Rathod 32, Shaswat Kapoor 31; Robin Vel 3/22, Varun Malik 2/22). Result:  Mumbai Police Gymkhana won by 2 wickets.

National CC: 126 all out, 36.1 overs (Gaurav Kumar 33; Prayag Kumar 3/19, Aryan Shetty 3/31) lost to Karnatak SA: 129 for 5 wickets, 22.1 overs (Mitra Parab 42*, Ritesh Nalawade 3/27). Result: Karnatak Sporting Association won by 5 wickets.

Worli SC: 145 for 8 wickets, 40 overs (Parth Pednekar 50*; Pratham Salaskar 4/34) lost to Sainath SC: 146 for 1 wickets, 34.3 overs (Tanish Meher 77*, Sarvesh Yadav 47). Result: Sainath SC won by 9 wickets.

P.J. Hindu Gymkhana: 186 for 8 wickets, 40 overs (Kavi Priyan 66*, Mohd. Moosa Ansari 58; Arjun Rawat 2/24, Yaseen Shaikh 2/26, Azhar Mansuri 2/42) lost to Islam Gymkhana: 188 for 2 wickets, 38 overs (Arpit Dhadve 96, Hemanshu Kumar 42*). Result: Islam Gymkhana won by 8 wickets.

Shivaji Park Gymkhana: 151 all out, 40 overs (Aman Verma 81; Atharva Sawant 4/23, Saksham Shinde 3/33, Kunal Vattari 2/32) lost to Shantibai Memorial CC: 152 for 7 wickets, 36.1 overs (Kunal Vattari 41, Roshan Kanojiya 33; Nandan Kamat 3/22, Likhit Kadam 2/35). Result: Shantibai Memorial CC won by 3 wickets.

Parkophene Cricketers: 165 all out, 32.5 overs (Shreyash Hirlekar 70, Sumit Singh 37; Vishal Prasad 3/21, Ainul Haque Khan 3/36) lost to Shivaji Park Youngstar CC: 169 for 6 wickets, 32.2 overs (Tanishq Panikeveetil 83; Sumit Dasadia 3/38). Result: Shivaji Park Youngstar won by 4 wickets.

Comments are closed.