Victory CC are champs of 1st MCA Women’s League

Mumbai, May 19:  Victory Cricket Club put up a determined fighting performance and managed to get the better of a spirited Fort Youngsters CC by a tight 3 wickets margin in the final of the 1st MCA Women’s Cricket League played under floodlights at the MCA ground, BKC late Thursday evening.

After winning the toss and deciding to field, Victory CC managed to contain the Fort Youngsters batters who could only post a low total of 127 all out in 19.4 overs. Fort Youngsters’ batswomen Janhvi Kate and Zeal D’Mello scored 43 and 36 runs respectively to prop and bring some kind of respectability to the innings. Sarika Koli who finished with 3 wickets for 11 runs was mainly responsible for reducing the opposition batting.

Chasing a modest target, Victory CC batters also struggled a bit. But a steady and composed batting display by Saima Thakor who scored an unbeaten 38 runs and Alina Mulla who contributed 33 ensured Victory CC surpassed the winning target reaching 128 for 7 wickets in 19.2 overs and to become first Champions of the MCA Women Cricket League.

The Champions and Runners-up will receive their trophies and other awards during the MCA Prize Distribution function which is scheduled to be held next month after the completion of all the MCA tournaments. The winners of the individual awards would also be announced and presented at the PD function.

Brief scores (finals): Fort Youngsters 127 all out, 19.4 overs (Janhvi Kate 43, Zeal D’Mello 36; Sarika Koli 3 for 11) lost to Victory Cricket Club 128 for 7 wickets, 19.2 overs (Saima Thakor 38*, Alina Mulla 33). Result: Victory Cricket Club won by 3 wickets.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.