Team WNS wins the ‘F’ Div title of the Times Shield ’18 on the back a great teamwork throughout the season


Played at the Bengal Club, Shivaji Park, the promising CIPLA team had a big challenge of facing the powerful and consistent WNS who have performed really well throughout the season. It was the all important finals of the Times Shield where in WNS won the toss and elected to field first.

Their decision to field first was spot on as CIPLA managed to score only a 182/8 in 45 overs which is quite a modest score to defend against an in-form team like WNS. Even a score of 182 would have not been possible had Govind(43) and Jagdish Mali (56) would have not stitched a partnership at the middle order. Aditya Nikam bowled really well taking 3/31 while Ketan Kharat and Mandar Garude also bagged two wickets each to make it a collectively good bowling perfomance.

WNS on the other hand chased down the score in just 37.5 overs as they won the match by 5wkts. Opener Ajinkya Patil gave a good start with 39runs while it was Mohd Asif Khan (56) & Shivprakash (38) at the middle order doing the job for their team and clinching them towards the victory line.

WNS won the finals and became the deserver winners of the Times Shield F Division title under the able captaincy of Kiran Desai.

Some Important Highlights from the winning team:

– Wns restricted Cipla with discipline bowling by Kiran Desai who gave 31 runs in 9 overs. Wns started Match with good opening spell where Ketan took wickets from one side n Kiran Desai stopped runs
– Also wns won this tournament on back of good bowling by the bowlers throughout the tournament

Top Bowlers for WNS-

– Ketan Kharat 14 wickets
– Kiran Desai 11 wickets
– Aditya Nikam 11 wickets
– Shivprakash Jaiswal 11 wickets

In batting from WNS-

Dnyansagar patil scored 240

Ajinkya patil scored 203

Asif khan with 150 runs

Shivaprakash Jaiswal 120 runs

The above are highest wicket taker and most runs scorers in the entire tournament





Comments are closed.