Sportsfield Cricket Club win the 3rd Ajit Ghosh Memorial Trophy

The third edition of the Ajit Ghosh Memorial Trophy (T20 Women’s Cricket Tournament)
was completed on November 18. Under the aegis of the Mumbai Cricket Association, Sporting Union Club and Kalyandas Memorial Sports Foundation organised this tournament. Sportsfield Cricket Club and Mumbai Police Gymkhana played the finals at the Shivaji Park Gymkhana.

Batting first, Mumbai Police Gymkhana posted 100/7 in 20 overs. Opening batter Kshama Patekar top-scored with 39 off 38, including four boundaries. Patekar put together 66 runs with her opening partner Shrushti Naik (26), to provide an excellent start to her team. However, Samruddhi Rawool of Sportsfield Cricket Club wreaked havoc with the ball as she scalped 19/3 in four overs. The wily off-spinner hit the right straps to yield rich dividends.

In response, Sportsfield Cricket Club made light work of the run chase as they overhauled the target in just 15.3 overs. They won the match by nine wickets. India player Punam Raut led the run chase from the front with a 40-ball 45, including six boundaries. Raut stitched an 88-run opening partnership with Aachal Valanju (44 not out) to take her team to a comfortable position. On the other hand, Sheral Rozario was the lone wicket-taker for Mumbai Police Gymkhana.

Comments are closed.