Rudra’s century props Vengsarkar XI innings in 24th Shalini Bhalekar Trophy 2019

Mumbai, November 26: Rudra Dhanday brilliant knock of 169 runs propped up Dilip Vengsarkar XI to 308 all out in 55.2 overs in their first innings against Chandrakant Pandit XI on the first day of their 3-day second round league match of the 24th Shalini Bhalekar Trophy (boys’ under-23) Selection Trials cricket tournament 2019, organized by Mangesh Bhalekar in association with the Dadar Parsi Zoroastrian Sports Club and played at the Sachin Tendulkar Gymkhana II, Kandivali, on Tuesday. The tournament is being conducted under the auspices of the Mumbai Cricket Association.

Besides Rudra’s massive effort, the other Vengsarkar XI who made useful contributions was Sarfaraz Khan 34 runs and Ajit Pahalwan 36 runs. Chandrakant Pandit successful bowlers were Yashraj Malap (3 for 64) and Maxwell Swaminathan (4 for 38). Pandit XI scored 83 for 1 wicket, in 21.0 overs in their first innings. Srujan Athawale (37 runs) and Agni Chopra (34 runs) are batting and will resume their innings on the second day.

In the second match, Lalchand Rajput XI scored a whopping 390 runs for the loss of just 4 wickets in 87 overs against Jahangir Pithawala XI. Adeeb Usmani powered his way to a 112 runs knock (183 balls, 18×4), while substantial scores came from Siddharth Akre (90 runs), Bhupen Lalwani (72 runs) and Harshit Janwadkar (69 runs). Aman Khan (2 for 72) was the only Jahangir Pithawala XI bowler to get the wickets.

Brief scores: Dilip Vengsarkar XI – 1st innings: 308 all out, 55.2 overs (Dhanday Rudra 169, Sarfaraz Khan 34, Ajit Pahalwan 36; Yashraj Malap 3 for 64, Maxwell Swaminathan 4 for 38) Vs Chandrakant Pandit XI – 1st innings: 83 for 1 wicket, 21.0 overs ((Srujan Athawale 37*, Agni Chopra 34*).

Adeeb Usmani (Parkophene Cricket Club Team) 59 runs
Adeeb Usmani (Lalchand Rajput XI Team) 112 runs

Lalchand Rajput XI – 1st innings: 390 for 4 wicket, in 87 overs (Adeeb Usmani 112 (183 balls, 18×4), Siddharth Akre 90, Bhupen Lalwani 72, Harshit Janwadkar 69; Aman Khan 2 for 72) Vs Jahangir Pithawala XI. Played  at Sachin Tendulkar Gymkhana I, Kandivali


Comments are closed.