NIA charge to victory on Kunwar all-round show

Mumbai: All-rounder Vinay Kunwar’s patient 30 runs knock and a remarkable bowling spell of 3 wickets for just 8 runs helped New India Assurance (NIA) SC record an authoritative 83 runs victory against Central Bank of India RC in a second round Group-A Elite Division match of the 11th Insurance Shield T20 Inter-Office Cricket Tournament, organised by Oriental Insurance Company under the aegis of MCA (Mumbai Cricket Association), and played at the Cross Maidan on Friday.

Chosing to bat first, NIA piled up a mammoth total of 194 for 7 wickets from their 20 overs. Besides Kunwar’s innings, Sumit Mishra 36 runs, Jagdish Shetty 32 runs, Hrithik Patil 30 runs and Prabudd Dabholekar 22 not out lifted the NIA total and set Central Bank a stiff target for victory. Prem Devkar (2 for 44) was Central Bank best bowler.

Faced with a huge challenge, Central Bank managed to score 111 runs for the loss of 8 wickets from their quota of 20 overs. Aniket S. 24 runs and Prem Devkar unbeaten 22 runs were the only batsmen to get some decent runs on the board. Kunwar received good support from Mangesh Darekar (3 for 34) and Prabudd Dabholekar (2 for 19) to secure NIA’s big victory.

In a Group-B match, IDBI CC clinched a narrow 3-wicket win against CIPLA CC. CIPLA CC scored 128 for 9 wickets in 20 overs and IDBI CC did well to chase the target making 129 for 7 wickets in 16.3 overs.

Brief scores – Elite Division: New India Assurance 194 for 7 wickets, 20 overs (Sumit Mishra 36, Jagdish Shetty 32, Vinay Kunwar 30,Hrithik Patil 30, Prabudd Dabholekar 22; Prem Devkar 2 for 44) beat Central Bank of India RC 111 for 8 wickets, 20 overs (Aniket S. 24, Prem Devkar 22; Vinay Kunwar 3 for 8, Mangesh Darekar 3 for 34, Prabudd Dabholekar 2 for 19). Result: New India Assurance won by 83 runs.

CIPLA CC 128 for 9 wickets, 20 overs (Parth Pathak 24, Visharad Pagare 23, Shasuat Kapoor 21*; Atharva Bhosale 3 for 20, Soham Sabnis 2 for 25) lost to IDBI CC 129 for 7 wickets, 16.3 overs (Anilkumar Ronak 42; Suchit Delve 3 for 31, Aditya Suryavanshi 2 for 21, Arjun Yadav 2 for 21). Result; IDBI CC won by 3 wickets.

Comments are closed.