Nataraj Pen’s Mumbai’s Own Cricket Awards- Felicitation of Awards for the Club Category

The 2nd Edition of Mumbai’s Own Cricket Awards was conducted at Mithibai College, Vile Parle on 20th February. The event turned out to be quite successful with various personalities from cricketing ecosystem gracing the event. From BCCI umpires to coaches, from school principals to State as well as National level cricketers graced the awards function adding the silver lining to the event.

The Jury which consisted of Umesh Patwal (Nepal National Team Batting Consultant), Sangeeta Kamat (MCA Women’s Selector) and Ajay Kadam (Former MCA Selector and BCCI Level 1 Coach) who brainstormed their way to decide the winners across 6 categories.

Let’s take a look at the winners of the School Category – 

BEST BATSMAN WINNER-SARFARAZ KHAN from Payyade Sports Club (Plays for RCB in IPL and now for Kings XI Punjab)

Sarfaraz with 520 runs in 8 innings this season made a comeback to Mumbai Cricket with a bang. With 284 runs in 5 matches including a hundred, Sarfaraz was also the highest scorer in Kanga League A Division while he scored consistently in other MCA Tournaments.

1st Runner Up- Srujan Athavale from Parel Sporting Club Team

Srujan with a total of 485 runs in 11 Innings (2 Centuries included one in Purshottam Shield and

one in Police Shield Cricket Tournament) grabbed the right attention while he was also the top run getter in Kanga League 2018-19 “B” Division with a total of 183 Runs in (5 Innings).

2nd Runner Up-Kevin Almeida from MIG Cricket Club

The MIG Skipper who has certainly changed the fortunes of MIG team in the last one year winning various matches and tournaments always led from the front scoring a total of 643 runs in 14 innings. Kevin was also the top run getter this year in Purshottam Shield amassing 289 runs in 3 innings while he scored a brilliant 122 in the finals of the Talim Shield leading from the front as a skipper.


BEST BOWLER IN CLUB CATEGORY WINNER- ATIF ATTARWALA (31 wkts in 13 innings) from Payyade Sports Club Team

Atif has certainly been a force to reckon with, the left arm medium pacer has been spot on with his line and length picking up wickets under crunch situations. ATIF was on a rampage in Talim Shield too where he was the top-wicket taker this season.

1st Runner Up- Parikshit Valsangkar– (29 wkts in 9 innings) from New Hind Sporting Club Team

Apart from being a very consistent batsman who has consistently scored those 40’s and 50’s in whichever tournaments he has played his year, Parikshit has been impressive with the ball too. In the finals of the Purshottam Shield, Parikshit took 5wkt hauls in both the innings of the match and also came up with a crucial half century to steer his team towards the title win.

2nd Runner Up- Badrey Alam (29wkts in 9 innings from Payyade Sports Club Team)

One of the fastest bowlers at present in the Club Category of Mumbai Cricket, Badrey has always been the frontline bowler for his team. This season with 29 scalps in 9 innings made him the 2nd runner up while he was the winner last year.


Most Popular Player in Club Category 

Winner – Sagar Mishra from Parkophene Cricket Club

Votes – 651 Votes

All-rounder Sagar Mishra won the most popular award in the club category with quite a big margin amassing 651 votes to surpass his contemparies.  In the Purshottam Shield, Sagar scored a fashionable 103 alongwith a 6 wkt haul vs PJ Hindu Gymkhana which brought gave him limelight overnight. Even in the Young Comrade Tournament, Sagar gave an impressive performance vs National CC scoring 70* and 4 wkts which had helped his team win the match with ease.


Comments are closed.