MIG Dominate Parsee As They Clinch The Police Shield

MIG won the Invitational Police Shield 2022-23 against Parsee Gymkhana in a dominating fashion which was played at the Mumbai Police Gymkhana, Mumbai from 6th to 8th January.


After winning the toss, Parsee elected to field first which proved to be costly as MIG thrashed an amassing total of 366 on board by 75 overs. Varun Lavande scored 84 as keeper Vedant Murkar contributed 78. There were a few other crucial chip ins by the middle order batsmen which contributed towards the total.

Vedant Murkar scored 78 in the 1st innings and 51 in the second for MIG

In reply, Parsee were bowled out for 285 in just the 40th over. Vaibhav Kalamkar, Aakarshit Gomel and Angkrish Raghuvanshi scoring half centuries but still being 84 runs behind. The MIG left arm duo of Atharva Ankolekar and Shreyas Gurav derailed the Parsee batting unit as they claimed 4 wickets each.

Atharva Ankolekar (left) scored 786 and picked up 4 wickets with Varun Lavande who was named the Best Batsman of the Police Shield

With a healthy lead, MIG entered the field with a purpose. By the end of the third innings, MIG declared at 285/8 with Atharva Ankolekar hammering 86 and Murkar contributing crucial 51 in the second innings again. Despite Sehdge’s 3 wickets, Parsee had a total of 370 to clinch the title.

Shreyas Gurav’s 9-wicket haul in the game helped MIG to victory

With a massive target to chase, Parsee Gymkhana crumbled by the 23rd over itself, losing all 10 wickets for 136. Harsh Tanna took 3 wickets with Gurav claiming 5 wickets in the second innings as well as MIG prevailed with 233 runs in hand.

The title winning MIG team was coached by Karan Nandey who himself is a successful club cricketer. Karan, head his personal academy as well namely the KN Sports Cricketgraph Academy which is under the Cricketgraph Academy Partnership Program.

Karan Nandey and Amit Dani

Toss: Parsee Gymkhana won the toss and elected to field
Result: M.I.G. Cricket Club won by 233 runs
M.I.G. Cricket Club
1st Innings- 366/10 in 74.2 overs
(Varun Lavande 84, Vedant Murkar 78, Pragnesh Kanpillewar 46,
Vishant More 42, Gaurav Jathar 41, Arjun Dani 39)
2nd Innings- 285/8 in 40 overs
(Atharva Ankolekar 86, Vedant Murkar 51, Suryansh Shedge 3/91)
Parsee Gymkhana
1st Innings- 282/10 in 70.2 overs
(Vaibhav Kalamkar 64, Aaakarshit Gomel 63, Angkrish Raghuvanshi 50, Shreyas Gurav 4/85, Atharva Ankolekar 4/136)
2nd Innings- 136/10 in 22.3 overs
(Angkrish Raghuvanshi 32, Shreyas Gurav 5/57, Harsh Tanna 3/54)

Comments are closed.