Railways On A Roll: Chaudhary, Sharma and Saif contribute heavily in back-to-back victories

The Indian Railways had a dominant run against the Mizoram as well as Services in the ongoing Vijay Hazare Trophy. 

Railways vs Mizoram: 
Railways obliterated Mizoram as they hammered 399 in 50 overs losing just 4 wickets. It all started off well with the openers who had an opening partnership of 123. Railway’s most consistent batter this season, Shivam Chaudhary scored a quick 77 but was dismissed in the 21st over. His opening partner Vivek Singh though, went on to get an incredible hundred (136 off 124). Mohammad Saif carried the innings in the middle stages as the 3 number batter contributed 62 to set a stage for the finishers. Wicketkeeper Upendra Yadav (56 off 23) and Shubham Chaubey (42 off 16) gave the Railways a thrust at the back end of the innings. Yadav hit 5 sixes as Chaubey slammed one less.  Mizoram had no response as they struggled for 50 overs and managed only 145 losing 5 wickets giving the victory to the Railways by 254 runs. 

Railways vs Services: 
Railways’ batsmen stood up to the occasion once again as they scored 347 at a blistering rate against the Services. after losing out on his century the last game,  Shivam Chaudhary achieved the magical 3 digit mark against the services as he finished with 125 run to his name. He was well supported by his opening partner Vivek Singh who contributed 48.  Mohammad Saif also chipped in a crucial 86 in the middle overs in 71 balls. After the batter’s had their dun, it was skipper Karn Sharma’s turn to display his batting prowess. Sharma faced only 14 deliveries but caused severe damage by hammering 4 of them outside the park. He went on to score 40 with a dominant strike rate of 286.

After causing carnage with the bat, Sharma didn’t spare anyone with the ball as he went on to pick 5 wickets in his quota of 10 overs giving away only 39 runs. Pacer Yuvraj Singh picked up 4 quick wickets to end the innings. Services were wrapped up in just the 43rd over as Railways won by 103 runs. 

Comments are closed.